THE NATIONAL PRACTICAL EXAM THAT IS REQUIRED FOR FLORIDA LICENSURE

Florida Laws and Rules Requirement

All licensees are responsible for knowing the laws and rules that regulate their profession. The laws in Chapter 484,Part I, Florida Statutes (F.S.), are directly related to the profession of Opticianry, and Chapter 456, F.S., governs all health care professions licensed by the Department of Health. Rule Chapter 64B12. Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), are the rules that govern the profession of Opticianry. Rule Chapter 64B29, F.A.C., are the rules that govern optical establishments. This page is intended to be a summary only of the requirements for Florida licensure, for complete details go the Board of Opticianry Website

National Optician’s Practical Examination

The National Commission of State Opticianry Regulatory Boards (NCSORB) which is a non-profit organization representing state licensing boards developed the National Optician’s Practical Examination.

The Examination is comprised of two examinations: 

1) Spectacles only that includes a multiple choice and skill examination; and 

2) Spectacles and Contact Lens examination that includes a multiple-choice and skill examination for both examination components.

The procedures and needed steps to register for the National Opticianry Practical Exam.

1. Once a candidate meets Florida’s educational/apprenticeship requirements and has successfully completed the ABO/NCLE exam they are eligible to complete and submit the Application for Licensure Examination. The candidate can complete the application online or download the paper version  and submit it directly to the board office by mail. The application fee for the licensure is $100 and is due with the application. Note: the board now accepts credit card payments with online applications.

2. Licensure applications are reviewed by the Florida Board of Opticianry (Board) to be certified eligible to sit for the NCSORB National Optician’s Practical Examination. The eligible candidate's information is forwarded to the NCSORB office.

3. The candidate will receive a confirmation from NCSORB with further instructions including the National Practical Optician Candidate Manual Practical, the Spectacle and Contact Lens Examination Candidate Checklist and Study Materials Overview. It is vitally important that the candidate thoroughly read both of these manuals.

4. Within 3-4 weeks of submitting your registration form and examination fee to NCSORB, you will receive an authorization letter from NCSORB. The authorization letter will provide you with the test administrator’s website and ID number to access the exam tutorials, candidate handbook, and scheduling information. The exam fee is $325 to take the combined two part exam at the same time and $275 for each part when taken separately.

The NCSORB National Optician’s Practical Examination is given in computer testing centers on a year round basis throughout the United States in a multiple-choice and skill simulation format. The NCSORB Optician’s examination is two-part, one for spectacles and one for contact lenses. An applicant must receive a passing score on both parts to obtain licensure as an Optician in Florida.

5. Candidates will be allowed to register and schedule their exam date with the exam testing center Pearson VUE only after they have completed their registration and exam payment to NCSORB. Candidates must schedule and complete their exam within 90 days of receiving the authorization letter  from NCSORB, please refer to the National Practical Optician Candidate Manual for additional details on exam scheduling.



Additional Requirements to become a Licensed Optician in Florida

To Become Eligible the initial licensure you must complete following requirements;

◊ Successful completion of all parts of the examination for Florida licensure;

◊ The original certificate documenting successful completion of a two-hour laws and rules course by a Board approved laws and rules course provider;

◊ Copy of certificate documenting successful completion of a two-hour live technical practice continuing education course on fitting and adjusting by a Board approved provider;

◊ No discovery of disqualifying factors prior to licensure;

◊ Payment of the initial licensure fee within one (1) year of notification of successful passage of the examination for Florida licensure;  and

◊ Completion of Initial Licensure Form,


Consumer Info  |  Resources  |  Contact  |  Education  |  Florida Licensure  |  Member Services  |  Events  |  Marketplace

Copyright © 2016 Professional Opticians of Florida  |  Policy  |  Website by Nicasio LLC

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software