COVID-19 Online Home-Study Requirements for 2019-2020
Important 2020 Licensing Info
April 1, 2021
**UPDATE** Per Emergency Order, DOH No. 21-001, the license expiration date for Opticians expiring December 31, 2020, is extended to June 30, 2021.
What does this mean for you?
All Opticians need to renew their license before midnight on June 30, 2021, to avoid a $125 late fee. We DO NOT recommend waiting for the last minute as CE Broker is experiencing many glitches, especially for those who are Board Certified. We have been working closely with the Board office and CE broker so they may resolve this issue. Please call the POF office at 850-201-2622 if you need any assistance.
May I complete my 2019/2020 CE requirements via home study until June 30, 2021?
Yes, 64B12-15.001(8) states, “For the biennium ending December 31, 2020, the restriction on permitting a maximum of 5 hours of continuing professional education, which may be earned from courses without classroom instruction, shall not be effective. All required continuing education hours may be earned by courses without classroom instruction.”
Once your education requirements are met, please click here to renew your DO license.
If you still need hours, please visit: https://pofce.org for over 30 hours of PDF courses to choose from or visit https://pofvirtualshow.com for over 40 hours of video courses to choose from. Both options are $7.50 per hour of education or visit https://pof.org/Virtual-Show for the option to purchase the entire 40+ course bundle for $117 for POF Members or $150 for the standard rate. You do not have to be a POF member to take hours from POF.
The current continuing education requirements for this biennium are as follows:
A. LAWS & RULES:
Two (2) hours must be on Florida laws & administrative rules governing the profession.
At least eleven (11) hours shall be directly relating to the technical profession of Opticianry (i.e. dispensing, contact lens, etc.). Board Certified Opticians shall receive at least four (4) hours in contact lens theory and practice.
C. REDUCTION OF MEDICAL ERRORS:
Two (2) hours on and shall include a study of root-cause analysis, error reduction and prevention, and patient safety.
D. ELECTIVES COURSES:
Five (5) hours may be on any of the listed topic (A, B or E) or may be in a management, sales, stress management , risk management or marketing related topic.
E. AIDS/HIV EDUCATION:
One (1) hour AIDS/HIV training will now only be required for newly licensed opticians during their initial renewal that CEs are required.
Initially Licensed Opticians (for first renewal only)
Opticians initially licensed in the first year of biennium (2021) are required to complete ten (10) hours of CE for their first license renewal, which must include one (1) hour of HIV/AIDS education with a maximum of 3 hours from courses without classroom instruction.
5 hours must be directly related to the technical practice of opticianry
1 hour of HIV/AIDS education
2 hours must relate to the prevention of medical errors
2 hours of electives from the first 2 areas above or subjects relating to business management
A maximum of 3 hours of CE may be from courses without classroom instruction.
Opticians initially licensed in the second year of biennium (2022) are not required to complete CE requirements for the first licensure renewal. (License must expire same year it was issued for this to apply)
*This is a summary only - Please consult rule 64B12-15.003 of the Florida Administrative Code, Standards For Continuing Education. For additional information, contact:
Visit the Board's website
The Florida Board of Opticianry:
Department of Health
Board of Opticianry
4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C-08
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3258
Phone (850) 245-4292